1. Support Home
  2. Fees, Payments & Escrow

What is pre-authentication and how does it work?

Pre-authentication is a hold that’s placed on your card when you bid on an auction. We’ll let you know if we need to pre-authenticate your bid.

The pre-authentication charge will be 6% + VAT of your max bid. If you don’t win, the charge will be cancelled when the auction ends.The cancellation should be immediate, but it can take up to a few days to appear in your account.

If you win, we’ll take a security deposit which counts towards the payment for the vehicle and isn’t any extra cost to you.